Skip to main content

The FCNL Justice Award recognizes members of Congress who have advanced policies to create a more just society and country, unapologetically recognizing the dignity of all people.

It is presented each year at FCNL’s Annual Meeting. The first Justice Award was awarded in 2020.

  • 2023: Rep. Tom Cole (OK-04), for his bipartisan leadership to establish a Truth and Healing Commission on Indian Boarding School Policies in the U.S. and advance policies that honor tribal sovereignty and treaty rights.
  • 2022: Sen. Lisa Murkowski (AK), for her work to honor the nation-to-nation relationship the federal government has with tribal nations and leadership in responding to the crisis of Missing and Murdered Indigenous People.
  • 2021: Rep. Rosa DeLauro (CT-03), for being a persistent champion of working families, and working to expand the Child Tax Credit as well as housing, child care, and paid family leave.
  • 2020: Rep. Deb Haaland (NM-01) received FCNL’s first ever Justice Award for her commitment to end the crises of missing and murdered Indigenous women.