Skip to main content

Friends Committee on National Legislation

FCNL is governed by a General Committee of approximately 180 Friends, the majority of whom have been appointed by 26 Yearly Meetings and seven national Friends’ organizations. FCNL is a 501(c)4 organization, and gifts are not tax-deductible.

The General Committee meets each November to conduct business at FCNL’s Annual Meeting. The executive and standing committees oversee the program and administration of FCNL between Annual Meetings.


Executive Committee Members

  • Ron Ferguson, Clerk (Chairperson)
  • Mary Lou Hatcher, Asst. Clerk
  • Abigail Adams, Recording Clerk
  • Scott Duncan, Treasurer
  • Lynn Oberfield, Personnel Clerk
  • Doug McCown, Development Clerk
  • Megan Fair, Field Clerk
  • Ebby Luvaga, Policy Clerk
  • Jonathan Brown, Finance Clerk
  • Kathy Guthrie, Nominating Clerk
  • Jane Hiles, Annual Meeting Planning Clerk
  • Lauren Brownlee, At Large, FCNL
  • Diane Randall, FCNL General Secretary

FCNL Education Fund

The FCNL Education Fund is a 501(c)3 organization that exists in parallel with FCNL to support the research, analysis and education for which FCNL is known and respected. Gifts are tax-deductible. It is governed by a board appointed by FCNL’s Executive Committee.

Education Fund Executive Committee Members

  • Ron Ferguson, Clerk (Chairperson)

  • Mary Lou Hatcher, Assistant Clerk

  • Abigail Adams, Recording Clerk

  • Rebecca Way Bergus, Ed Fund Treasurer

  • Ernie Buscemi, At Large, Ed Fund

  • Lynn Oberfield

  • Doug McCown

  • Megan Fair

  • Ebby Luvaga

  • Jonathan Brown

  • Kathy Guthrie

  • Jane Hiles

  • Diane Randall, FCNL Executive Secretary

The FCNL Education Fund, a 501 (c)3 nonprofit, promotes civic engagement through education and training to achieve a peaceful, just, and sustainable world. 

Learn more

Join our email list!

Quakers and Friends are changing public policy.